Drew Barrymore on her relationship with Mom Jaid

Image

By all accounts, Drew Barrymore is now an ecstatically happy married mother pregnant with her second child — but the actress, designer and former child star, 38, remains estranged from her mother Jaid Barrymore. 

“Ugh, I mean, my relationship with my mom is so complicated,” the designer says.. Back in the late ’80s, the precocious E.T. actress famously entered rehab at age 14 and, at 15, successfully petitioned for juvenile emancipation from her parents, moving into her own apartment; her relationship with Jaid, now 67, has been rocky ever since. (Part of the storied Barrymore acting dynasty, Drew’s father, John Drew Barrymore, died at age 72 back in 2004.)

“I’ve always been empathetic toward my mom, and I was even more so when I had a kid and we had a really amazing conversation about it,” the Big Miracle actress reveals. “However, [becoming a mom] hasn’t enabled me to lessen the distance. It’s the hardest subject in my life. I’ve never just been angry with her. I’ve always felt guilt and empathy and utter sensitivity. But we can’t really be in each other’s lives at this point.”

Posted on January 7, 2014, in Celebrity News and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

