My Fake Italian Sister- in -Law

I grew up in an Italian home. We lived in an Italian Neighborhood and we shopped at Italian grocery stores.

I am the oldest of 2 brothers and 1 sister. I believe I am the only one that has continued on with the Italian traditions and customs and I am the only one that really remembers them all.

My oldest brother grew up VERY Italian and sometimes his Italian comes peaking out, but at a very young age he married my sister- in-law who is 100% polish! At first my Mother couldn’t believe he was marrying a girl that was Polish, but when she met the entire family and realized they all had very dark hair and really looked Italian, she was ok. She figured she could pass my sister- in law off as Italian and no one would be the wiser. Even their kids all had dark hair and looked Italian. ( actually, their kids looked more Italian than mine). Throughout the years though, my brother, of course, has succomed to his wife’s traditions. Instead of Italian Sausage on the Holidays, they have ….gulp……Polish sausage and instead of ravioli, they have….Oh dear….I can’t even say it… Pierogi. I do believe my brother has buried some of his Italian customs and traditions and he is just plain old American now. So sad…… I will tell you though, that my lovely sister-in-law tries very hard to keep some of the Italian alive in her family. She recently asked me for my grandmother’s chocolate cookie recipe. As much as I love her and as much as she tries….she still makes lasagna with ….COTTAGE CHEESE!

Love you sissy!

Posted on January 12, 2014, in Growing Up Italian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink. Leave a comment.

Leave a Reply

