My Darn Kids…..

Image

 I am Italian! By now everyone knows that. My adult kids read my blog and will text me and say things like ” I don’t remember having sauce 3 times a week.” or “I never saw plastic on Nana’s furniture.” Look at that face in this picture. That is an Italian face!

 Below is a letter to my children….

Dear Children,

Your Mother is 100% Italian. I do not THINK I am Italian, I am Italian. The reason you don’t remember some of these things I write in my blog is because they are memories of  my childhood and guess what? You weren’t there. I  really was a kid ya know.

We, meaning my mother, grandmother, brothers and sister, had sauce 3 times a week.  Not We, my kids and I.

When I was 10, I vividly remember my mother having plastic on her formal living room furniture!  She took it off when we had company. Again, I am pretty sure you weren’t there.

My mother only bought Italian bread. Yes, you kids had other bread. If you read by blog correctly, you will see that when I was 18, I was introduced to other breads so you children had other breads when you were little. Not me, I only had Italian. I also only had Italian cookies. Not you kids….you enjoyed all kinds of cookies, but I only had Italian. We were also very Religious in my house and that I did carry onto my life with you kids so you can’t dispute that.

Haha, I think it is so funny that you think I was born 20 years old and everything I write is after you guys were born. I had a life before you and that is what I am writing about. Pay attention, you can learn some interesting things about how “I grew up Italian!”

Love you guys! LBR

Posted on January 30, 2014, in Growing Up Italian, The real me and tagged . Bookmark the permalink. 2 Comments.

  1. You really have a way with words Mommy

  2. That polish sausage you made for last Christmas was delicious!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

